Follow

How do I cancel or edit a booking? (+ cancellation policy, cancelled time, and unused time explained)

HOW TO CANCEL OR AMEND A BOOKING

You can cancel a reservation, or change the start time and/or end time, in two ways :

  1. Log in to the members' website > go to 'Your trips' > Find the booking you wish to cancel or edit and click on "View details" > edit the details and click 'Confirm changes' or click the red 'Cancel booking' button. OR
  2. By calling Car Next Door (a $2 service fee applies).


CANCELLATION CHARGES/CHARGES FOR UNUSED TIME

You can make changes to your booking within one hour after you make it, without any charge.

After that, if you cancel all or part of a booking less than 48 hours before your booking is due to start, a fee will be charged. 

This includes where you change the time of a booking so that some of the time you had booked is now unused (e.g. you're now starting later, or returning the car earlier, than your original booking). The booked time that you no longer require is considered “unused time” and is subject to the cancellation policy.

The charges for cancelled or unused time are set out in the Fee Schedule.

The reason for these charges is to compensate the car's owner for the fact that your booking may have prevented others from booking the car. If another member books the car after you cancel, then the owner has not lost any income and so you will not be charged for that time.


DON’T BE A NO-SHOW! CANCEL IN ADVANCE.

Cancelling the booking in advance gives you an opportunity to recoup money if another member books the vehicle, and means that you won’t be charged a booking fee.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk